• Welcome!




    Hello and welcome to my blog. Here you'll find there are many ways to navigate through the postings. Try the new tag cloud below; or search by a key word (top right); or you can just follow the links at the top and bottom of every posting. For example, clicking on 'resources' in the tag cloud will give you all the downloads on this site.

    Clicking on the title of any posting will give you a feedback form for any comments that you'd care to leave and it will also expand the posting to its full form.

    Oh, and there's always the guestbook ;) [the link on the tab the top]

    I hope you enjoy the blog and find something useful, informative or entertaining.

    Andrew :)
  • My Calendar

  • Click the red rectangle below for a visitor map

  • My Feed



    Click to subscribe
  • Pages

  • Past Postings

  • Meta

Simple Origami Book

One of ways to produce captivating resources in teaching is to “access your inner child”. It’s hard to say when I started ‘messing about with paper’ but, whenever it began, it has remained a fascination to this day. I am not alone in this: many of the children with whom I work also share a love of paper forms.

Here’s an idea I have used many times in my teaching. I think the original material came from John Pattern at Manchester University.

The diagram below shows how to make a simple “origami” book. They can be made in many sizes but it is best to start with a piece of paper that is at least A3. No glue is required and only one cut. Just follow the diagrams and you will end up with a small, six-page book.

Origami Book 3

I have used this idea as a display piece at the end of, say, a unit on writing poetry. Students choose their six favourite poems and re-draft them into this small anthology. The books are then displayed in such a way that encourages readers to read them. I usually make a “washing line” and hang or peg the books to it. Then students are encouraged to read each others’ books and provide feedback to the poet.

Below is a pdf version of one such origami book template. The template is designed to create ‘poetry books’ but might serve as a starting point for developing your own ideas.

Why not try using these books for revision or as an ‘end-of-unit’ assessment piece? Whatever you decide to use them for, give them a go. You won’t be disappointed with the results.

Origami Book Template.pdf (A3 paper)

Update: for another origami book form see here.

AddThis social bookmarking image button

9 Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this. I knew that I could count on your website for great ideas. I will use this when I start teaching.

  2. [...] in turn reminded me of another version of the origami book that I posted here last year. This time the paper folding gives students a book with a cover, six-pages and three [...]

  3. I tried this with my Y10s and Y7s for completely different topics. My Y10s think it is a fantastic way to revise the Armitage-Duffy poetry pair, and my Y7s think their non-fiction module will be much easier to remember now! Thanks a lot, I’m trying your paperchains for ‘Havisham’ next!

  4. I’m glad you like the ideas Jenni. Whereabouts are you teaching? – be good to know how far the ripples travel.

  5. Amazing much more simple than one i’ve seen, and perfect to cheat in tests

  6. [...] English teacher,  Andrew Leggett’s, simple-origami-book [...]

  7. I have been poking around, looking for different variations of directions for this book form. I quite your illustrations and ramblings, and have printed your link along with my own and a couple of other links to instructions.

  8. Good post. I just found this Origami-inspired Twitter icon at Digg, which you can use on your blog if it is running WordPress.

  9. Thank you for this diagram and explanation. I came across this pattern awhile ago and wanted to make a printable template for it. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

