• Welcome!




    Hello and welcome to my blog. Here you'll find there are many ways to navigate through the postings. Try the new tag cloud below; or search by a key word (top right); or you can just follow the links at the top and bottom of every posting. For example, clicking on 'resources' in the tag cloud will give you all the downloads on this site.

    Clicking on the title of any posting will give you a feedback form for any comments that you'd care to leave and it will also expand the posting to its full form.

    Oh, and there's always the guestbook ;) [the link on the tab the top]

    I hope you enjoy the blog and find something useful, informative or entertaining.

    Andrew :)
  • My Calendar

  • Click the red rectangle below for a visitor map

  • My Feed



    Click to subscribe
  • Pages

  • Past Postings

  • Meta

How do you feel today?

Working at a school this Friday, I came across a resource that I really liked but I could see that, with a few tweaks, it could be even more useful. So, I’ve made my own version of it.

23-11-2009 11-00-51

23-11-2009 11-02-27

Each ‘emoticon’ has beneath it a strip of five boxes that could indicate intensity or that could be used to track emotion over a period of five lessons. The sheet is purposefully made using outline drawings so that colour might also be used to develop an emotional pattern.

I imagine that this resource could be used to encourage students to reflect on their emotions say, as part of a SEAL learning objective. It might also be used to reflect on the emotions of others perhaps as part of engaging with a writer or speaker.

The link is below; I hope you find it useful.

How do you feel today.pdf

7 Responses

  1. Love this and am going to use it with SEAL network members tonight.

    Will have to be creative to come up with even more options for the blank faces.
    Cheers- see you soon.

    • Congratulations on being the first Doncaster Consultant to leave a comment on my blog. Welcome to the Blogosphere! I am so glad you like the resource and can find an immediate use for it – it took hours to re-create this from my, er-hum ‘template’. See you Friday.

  2. Fantastic, I agree with Janice. Thank you Andrew!
    Not sure at this stage in the week I can create any options for the blank faces that I could politely leave on this blog!! What a week?! Aaaaaaaaaagh – sorry Janice not very SEAL!!

    See you soon Andrew!
    ;-) x

    • Hi Loz,
      Welcome to the wonderful world of online thingummy watsits. Hehe – I can just imagine those faces and emotions. I may even bring a sheet along on Friday so the Cons can fill one in after your lovely meeting. :)

  3. Hi Andrew,

    Happy new year and spring!
    I’ve just nabbed your faces resource for a school in Barnsley – for a teacher at Priory, where you did some work, I think.

    I hope your term is good so far, and I see you soon
    ;-)
    love jane

  4. [...] Working at a school this Friday, I came across a resource that I really liked but I could see that, with a few tweaks, it could be even more useful. So, I've made my own version of it. Each 'emoticon' has beneath it a strip of five boxes that could indicate intensity or that could be used to track emotion over a period of five lessons. The sheet is purposefully made using outline drawings so that colour might also be used to develop an emotional … Read More [...]

  5. I am a second grade teacher in the inner city of Nashville,TN. I’m so glad to find your site. I love my students, but find that I get very stressed sometimes. I am looking for ways to be effective, more organized, and less stressed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

